The Holocaust Historiography Project

Nazi Conspiracy and Aggression

Opinion and Judgment

Office of the United States Chief of Counsel for Prosecution of Axis Criminality

United States Government Printing Office

For sale by the
Superintendent of Documents
U.S. Government Printing Office
Washington 25, D.C.

The United States of America, the French Republic, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics


Hermann Wilhelm Goering, Rudolf Hess, Joachim von Ribbentrop, Robert Ley, Wilhelm Keitel, Ernst Kaltenbrunner, Alfred Rosenberg, Hans Frank, Wilhelm Frick, Julius Streicher, Walter Funk, Hjalmar Schacht, Gustav Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach, Karl Doenitz, Erich Raeder Baldur von Schirach, Fritz Sauckel, Alfred Jodl, Martin Bormann, Franz von Papen, Artur Seyss-Inquart, Albert Speer, Constantin von Neurath, and Hans Fritzsche, Individually and as Members of Any of the Following Group or Organizations to Which They Respectively Belonged, Namely: Die Reichsregierung (Reich Cabinet); Das Korps Der Politischen Leiter Der Nationalsozialistischen Deutschen Arbeiterpartei (Leadership Corps of the Nazi Party); Die Schutzstaffeln Der Nationalsozialistischen Deutschen Arbeiterpartei (commonly known as the “SS") and including Die Sicherheitsdienst (commonly known as the “SD"); Die Geheime Staatspolizei (Secret State Police, commonly known as the “Gestapo"); Die Sturmabteilungen Der N.S.D.A.P. (commonly known as the “SA") and the General Staff and High Command of the German Armed Forces are as defined in Appendix B of the Indictment,


  The Charter Provisions 3
  The Nazi Regime in Germany 4
  The Common Plan of Conspiracy and Aggressive War 16
  Violations of International Treaties 46
  The Law as to the Common Plan or Conspiracy 54
  War Crimes and Crimes against Humanity 56
  The Accused Organizations 84
  The Accused Individuals 107
  The Unfounded Acquittal of Defendant Schacht 166
  The Unfounded Acquittal of Defendant von Papen 172
  The Unfounded Acquittal of Defendant Fritzsche 175
  Concerning the Sentence of the Defendant Rudolf Hess 178
  Incorrect Judgment with Regard to the Reich Cabinet 180
  Incorrect Judgment with Regard to the General Staff
and High Command and the OKW


Nurnberg, Germany

  • LORD JUSTICE LAWRENCE, Member for the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, President
  • MR. JUSTICE BIRKETT, Alternate Member
  • MR. FRANCIS BIDDLE, Member for the United States of America
  • JUDGE JOHN J. PARKER, Alternate Member
  • M. LE PROFESSEUR DONNEDIEU DE VABRES, Member for the French Republic
  • M. LE CONSEILLER R. FALCO, Alternate Member
  • MAJOR GENERAL I. T. NIKITCHENKO, Member for the Union of Soviet Socialst Republics

Chief Prosecutor for the United States of America: Mr. Justice Robert H. Jackson

Chief Prosecutor for the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland: H. M. Attorney-General, Sir Hartley Shawcross, K. C., M. P.

Chief Prosecutor for the French Republic: M. Francois de Menthon, M. Auguste Champetier de Ribes

Chief Prosecutor for the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics: General R. A. Rudenko

Individual Defendants Counsel
Goering, Hermann Wilhelm Dr. Otto Stahmer
Hess, Rudolf Dr. Guenther von Rohrscheldt (to 5 February 1946)
Dr. Alfred Seidl (from 5 February 1946)
Von Ribbentrop, Joachim Dr. Fritz Sauter (to 5 January 1946)
Dr. Martin Horn (from 5 January 1946)
Keitel, Wilhelm Dr. Otto Nelte
Kaltenbrunner, Ernst Dr. Kurt Kauffmann
Rosenberg, Alfred Dr. Alfred Thoma
Frank, Hans Dr. Alfred Seidl
Frick, Wilhelm Dr. Otto Pannenbecker
Streicher, Julius Dr. Hans Marx
Funk, Walter Dr. Fritz Sauter
Schacht, Hjalmar Dr. Rudolf Dix
Doenitz, Karl Flottenrichter Otto Kranzbuehler
Raeder, Erich Dr. Walter Siemers
Van Schirach, Baldur Dr. Fritz Sauter
Sauckel, Fritz Dr. Robert Servatius
Jodl, Alfred Professor Dr. Franz Exner
Bormann, Martin Dr. Friedrich Bergold
Von Papen, Franz Dr. Egon Kubuschok
Seyss-Inquart [Arthur] Dr. Gustav Steinbauer
Speer, Albert Dr. Hans Flaechsner
Von Neurath, Constantin Dr. Otto Freiherr von Luedinghausen
Fritzsche, Hans Dr. Heinz Fritz
Groups and Organizations Counsel
Reich Cabinet Dr. Egon Kubuschok
Leadership Corps of Nazi Party Dr. Robert Servatius
SS (Schultzstafflen) and SD (Sicherheitsdienst). Dr. Ludwig Babel
Dr. Horst Pelckmann
Dr. Hans Gawlik
SA (Sturmabteilung) Dr. Georg Boehm
Dr. Martin Loeffler
Gestapo (Geheime Staatspolizei) Dr. Rudolf Merkel
General Staff and High Command of the German Armed Forces. Dr. Hans Laternser